courtney-seiter-buffer-logo.jpg

So your business has presence on multiple social platforms? That’s great! But you’re struggling to keep them all updated? That’s tough, and you’re not alone! We know that in order to make our social presence valuable, we have to post regularly, but doing that can be a full-time job. Many businesses hire outside help (that’s where I come in!), but if you want to do it on your own, I recommend Buffer!

Buffer is a program that allows you to post to multiple social platforms at scheduled times. Don’t fall into the simple trap, though! Many small business owners take advantage of these awesome tools, but then they make the HUGE mistake of just posting one thing to every platform at the same time. Why is that a bad idea?

Think about your followers on your various platforms. If they’re anything like mine, they vary greatly. Consider location alone… Most of my Facebook followers and LinkedIn connections, for example, are local for me. My Twitter and Instagram followers are far more global in reach. Then, consider their differences in age, interests, income, and more. Posting the same thing to all of these people will not be successful; they all want different things. The platform itself, of course, makes a huge difference as well. Twitter followers want quick headlines that link to more information if they’re interested. LinkedIn connections are looking for tips and info that’s relevant to the workplace. The list could go on and on, but I digress.

This means you still have to plan accordingly with WHAT you post, WHERE you post it, and WHEN it gets posted, but Buffer allows you to plan that all ahead of time. I often sit down on Sundays and schedule a bunch of posts to my various platforms for the week ahead. Certainly, if something comes up during the week that I want to share, I’ll share that too, but with Buffer, I know I have a few things already set. Something changed? No problem, log into your account, and edit (or delete) the post.

The best part of Buffer? It’s free! With the free version, you can have up to ten posts scheduled in your queue at a time, and you can connect up to five platforms. If you need more, you can upgrade to the “Awesome” plan for a monthly fee. Visit Buffer.com for more info.

